okay so i've changed a shit ton on my website, but i really like it right now, so it works. i changed it not only because i felt restricted in the older layout but also because my (computer science major & nerd) older brother dared me to so... yeah. i'm very competitive lol.

i'm nearly done with spring semester of college. i got into art school just a week ago which is super relieving. i have another portfolio check thing to do around october for my actual major which is nerve-wracking and i really hope and want to get in. i'll do my best ofc but i'm nervous. hm. other than that, it's mostly just normal classes. meeting with people and finding a class where other people are willing to talk with each other. last semester it was my drawing class, this semester it's my printmaking class. speaking of which, it's really fun. we did this thing called 'intalio' prints for the first bit of the semester which was super fun. it mainly relied on interesting mark-making which is something i do (and practice) a lot. we about two weeks ago we started relief prints on linoluim (which is what most people think when they think printmaking). i did the story of apollo and hycathinthus. partially because in art history class we were looking at a lot of venuses (esp 'the birth of venus' by alexandre cabanel) and so the idea got stuck in my head. i might post it on here? i need to figure out how i'm posting my art on my website...

okay, explaining my thought process with posting my art on neocities. lately, ai has been scraping so many websites for writing and art and i want to figure out a way to share my art without it getting stolen. when i do post my work, either behind a captcha or something, i'm thinking of doing it salon-gallery style. i want to figure out how to do filters or categories so people can see my improvement over the years. i think it's fun to see the improvement plus it's another layer of organization, which is always fun for me. for my writing i think i'll put the original works behind a paywall. chapters 1-5 or something will be free and the rest you have to pay to read. my fanfiction will always be free and posted on ao3. i fucking hate ai. it's taking the joy out of sharing pieces of artistic work

oh yeah! i recently found out about fansites and web cliques! (i already knew some info about listings from previous projects) i kind of went crazy and signed up for 175+ fansites??? it's all for things i like, i'm not joining random stuff just cause, but it's a lot lol. for the websites that don't have codes/buttons/imgs, i want to figure out how to make some and donate them. i tried today but it turned out super blurry. if someone knows how to make codes/buttons/imgs for fansites let me know! also buttons for websites are super confusign too, idk how everyone is animating theirs but i'd love to learn how to do that too!!

my captain america hyperfixation is still going strong... i was really into learning history and ww2 history there for a bit, to the point where i went to my college's special archives for historical books and other things. it got bad lol. i bought like 6 ww2 analysis books too. i really want to get more 1900-1950s history books, especially ones about nyc. but that'll have to wait until i finish this semester of college. i talked to my aunt who also liked captain america before marvel killed him off unfairly and it went well. she ships peggy carter with steve rogers and i ship bucky barnes with steve rogers, but i didn't mention my ship. i thought it would be awkward lol. (meanwhile on here i'm posting about stevebucky everwhere LOLOL). i still feel like it's an outdated fandom to be in but not as old as the voltron/steven universe fandoms, not yet. i noticed a while ago and posted this on my tumblr blog but i realized that the last two fandoms i was majorly obssessed with are pretty much dead fandoms. my last fandom obsession/hyper-fixation was SHINee from 2000s era kpop and my current one is Captain America/Bucky Barnes which peaked in 2015-16 ish. this probably says something about me but idk.

i want to post more on my diary since i've got a new setup going (where you're reading this), so i will see y'all soon!

- haven

should i post my reviews of movies/books on my neocities site?
 
pollcode.com free polls